↑ Return to MONASTERIES

TROODITISSA MONASTERY

troodotissa monasteryTrooditissa Monastery lies on a steep slope of a tributary of Diarizos, south of the pine-clad Troodos. With its height of about 1.300 metres a.s.l., it is considered to be the loftiest monastery of Cyprus. What is fascinating about the monastery is its rich history and tradition.

One could seek the history of the monastery in an isolated cave, close to the monastery. According to tradition, a monk carrying the icon of the Madonna, a painting of apostle Luke, left his native country and reached Akrotiri, close to the monastery of Agios Nikolaos of the Cats, around 762 A.D. Having spent about 25 years in the monastery of Agios Nikolaos, one day, guided by a bright star, he arrived at the present monastery of Trooditissa. He lived in a cave, known as the “Cave of Trooditissa”, until he died. The candle in the cave, after his death, was lit by shepherds, hunters and lumbermen. It is this candle and the icon of Panagia that led people to build the monastery in about 990 A.D.

Trooditissa

Though the history of the monastery between 990 and 1570 A.D. is obscure, Trooditissa was looted and destroyed in the 16th century, like most monasteries in Cyprus. In 1585 the church was burnt but the monks managed to save the divine icon of Panagia. A new single-aisled church, entirely painted, was subsequently built. In 1842 the church was again burnt, though it was restored one year later.

The church is now three-aisled, while the iconostasis is new. Between 1954 and 1974 the monastery was restored by increasing the cells and the rooms that can host guests.

Trooditissa PanayiaMany miracles are attributed to the icon of the Madonna. Childless women visit and pray for a child. A pair of buckles still lies near the icon and a woman who desires a child must wear them and her wish will be granted.